ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/65/2021 Dated: 13th May 2021

PRESS NOTE

Biennial Elections to the Legislative Councils of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana respectively by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs)-Deferment of elections-reg.

The term of office of 03 (Three) members of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council and 06 (Six) members of Telangana Legislative Council elected by the members of respective Legislative Assemblies (MLAs) are expiring on 31.05.2021 and 03.06.2021 respectively as per the details below:

Class of Constituency	Date of Retirement	No. of Seats	Electors
Andhra Pradesh			
By MLAs	31.05.2021	03	Members of Legislative Assembly
Telangana			
By MLAs	03.06.2021	06	Members of Legislative Assembly

- 2. As per the provisions of Section 16 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951, the seats of State Legislative Council which are going to be vacant on expiration of the term of the members, are required to be filled up by holding biennial election before the said expiration of the term.
- 3. The Commission has reviewed the matter today and has decided that due to outbreak of the second wave of COVID-19 in the country, it would not be appropriate to hold biennial election to the Legislative Councils of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana respectively till the pandemic situation significantly improves and conditions become conducive to hold these biennial elections.
- 4. The Commission will take a decision in the matter at appropriate time in the future after taking inputs from the concerned states and assessing the pandemic situation from mandated authorities like NDMA/SDMA.

(PAWAN DIWAN)
UNDER SECRETARY